China imposes restrictions on 11 US officials

Beijing-ALsharqiya August 10: China announced, Monday, the imposition of sanctions on 11 Americans, including Senators Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz, in response to similar steps taken by Washington against Chinese officials against the backdrop of Beijing's security crackdown in Hong Kong.

Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian said Monday that his country has decided to impose sanctions on some people who have behaved badly on issues related to Hong Kong.

 Sanctions include the director of "Human Rights Watch" Kenneth Roth and the head of the National Endowment for Democracy Karl Gershman.

 On Friday, Washington announced that it had decided to freeze the assets of the head of the Hong Kong Executive Authority, Carrie Lam, and ten senior Chinese officials, in a move that was the most stringent on the Hong Kong file since Beijing imposed a new security law on the city.


The President of the Republic, Barham Salih, and the President of the Supreme Judicial Council, Faik Zeidan, discussed the role of the judiciary and its independence in implementing the law

The head of the Integrity Commission in Iraq, Judge Alaa Al-Saadi, confirmed that the commission is determined to deter transgressors of public funds

The leader of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan, Ala Talabani, confirmed that her party supports multiple electoral districts